Project | Live Electronic & Acoustic Instruments (2013,2016,2017)

 
Virus #1
Virus #2

Virus #3

strings, woodwind and brass instruments, percussion sets

Sound engineer: Peter Venus
Commissioned by RSO Vienna

The live generated electronic resonating body is the host to which the sounds of the instruments attach and adapt, they penetrate into it and use it for their replication. At first the body is immune, but during the course of the piece the body stops resisting, takes in the sounds of the string instruments, and allows the viruses to multiply freely. It is a struggle and synthesis between two resonating bodies. Together they stay alive.

The Virus #* series was inspired by one of those rare moments of happiness. I had just heard Terretektorh by Iannis Xenakis performed by the RSO at the Wien Modern Festival 2009 and came away absolutely high! And yet I felt there was something missing – electronic sounds and the way they move through the room in a somehow different way. I was buzzing with questions, ideas for experiments. I think in terms of bodies, my field is electronics. So I wondered HOW can I communicate with a resonating body such as an orchestra? I opted for the language most familiar to me – live generated electronics – listening. Not sugar sprinkles or mere effects, ¬absoluteness – the score.

This image of a virus has emerged from inside of me.

I approached this challenge slowly. Virus #1 involves individual groups of instruments, Virus #2 a combination of two groups of instruments, Virus #3 a synthesis of all groups of instruments I have worked with thus far.

23 instruments, 15 voices, 75 oscillators, 75 meters. 24 pairs of ears open themselves to a feedback loop. I – the electronics – the host – the recursive control unit – a complex machine.

Both bodies are audible. The virus series is an expedition into acoustic perception, a sounding of the responses of our brains in the span of milliseconds, a plea for the precise acoustic moment.
And what do you hear?

03 10 2013 Musikprotokoll | Dom im Berg, Graz

Virus #3.1 for recorder, bassoon, violocello, violin and percussion set
Comissioned piece by ORF and Jeunesse
with Dafne Vicente-Sandoval (bassoon), Maria Grün (cello), Andrii Pavlov (violin), Caroline Mayrhofer (recorder), Igor Gross (percussion)

31 03 2016 ORF RadioKulturhaus, Wien

Virus #3.2 for Paetzold flute, basoon, tuba, horn and accordion
Commissioned piece by Klangspuren Schwaz
with TENM Tiroler Ensemble für Neue Musik (Caroline Mayrhofer, Paetzold flute, Erhard Ploner / bassoon, Christoph Gapp / horn, Karlheinz Siessl / tuba, Harald Pröckl / accordion)

17 09 2017 Klangspuren Festival PILGERSTATION VI – ABSCHLUSSKONZERT | Pfarrkirche Hll. Petrus und Paulus, Bruckhäusl


translated by Kimi Lum | supported by bm:ukk

credits


Andrii Pavlov

The violinist Andrii Pavlov is a representative the young generation of Ukrainian musicians and a prize-winner of several competitions, among them Stasys Vainiunas International Chamber Music Competition in Vilnius, Lithuania, and Johannes Brahms International Competition in Poertschach, Austria. He has performed in Ukraine, Netherlands, Spain, Poland, Azerbaijan, Algeria, Iran and Syria. He has improved his professional skills in masterclasses with renowned musicians like Philip Setzer, Krzysztof Smietana, Marc Danel, Andrej Bielow and Alexander Pavlovsky.

Caroline Mayrhofer

Wien/Innsbruck/Brixen. Musician, studied recorder and cello at Linz, Vienna, Amsterdam. Solo concert performer and member of ensembles for early and new music in Europe, America, Asia. Participation in CD- and broadcust recordings (EMI digital, RecRec, RAI). Activities in improvisation, folk music, Arabian and Sefardian music. | homepage

Dafne Vicente-Sandoval

is a bassoon player, who explores sound through improvisation, contemporary music performance and sound installations. Her instrumental approach is centered on the fragility of sound and its emergence within a given space, exploring the threshold between instability and control. Dafne currently lives in Paris. She favours long term collaborations within which her work keeps an integrity while holding a dialogue with that of others (current collaborations with Jakob Ullmann, Éliane Radigue, Klaus Lang, Phill Niblock, Michael Pisaro).

Igor gross

Percussion studies in Vienna. Actic in contemporary music among others with Klangforum Wien, PHACE Contemporary Music, Ensemble 20. Jahrhundert, Ensemble Phidias, Ensemble Platypus. Soloconcerts and busy with imroversation. Continous projects with orchesteras like the Wiener Philharmoniker, RSO Wien, Staatsoper Wien und others.

Maria Grün

The cellist Maria Grün first started taking cello lessons when she was six and was accepted to the gifted class at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Graz at the age of seven. From 2008 to 2014 she was principal in the Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra; since 2014 she has been a member of the cello section of the Vienna Symphony Orchestra. From the fall of 2007 on she has taught the gifted class for violoncello at the Johann Sebastian Bach Musikschule and has been employed as an assistant at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Vienna since October 2012.

RSO

The ORF Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra is a renowned, world-class orchestra that is closely connected to the Viennese tradition of orchestral performance. | homepage

TENM

TENM is the Tirolean Ensemble for New Music founded 1984 by Günther Zechberger and now directed by Harald Pröckl. | homepage

  • replication

    ../data/85.jpg

  • RSO Dom im Berg Musikprotokoll

    ../data/664.jpg

    co Musikprotokoll

  • RSO Dom im Berg Musikprotokoll

    ../data/665.jpg

    co Musikprotokoll

  • RSO Dom im Berg Musikprotokoll

    ../data/666.jpg

    co Musikprotokoll

  • RSO Dom im Berg Musikprotokoll

    ../data/667.jpg

    co Musikprotokoll

  • RSO Dom im Berg Musikprotokoll

    ../data/668.jpg

    co Musikprotokoll

  • RSO Dom im Berg Musikprotokoll

    ../data/669.jpg

    co Musikprotokoll

  • RSO Dom im Berg Musikprotokoll

    ../data/670.jpg

    co Musikprotokoll

  • RSO Dom im Berg Musikprotokoll

    ../data/671.jpg

    co Musikprotokoll

  • RSO Dom im Berg Musikprotokoll

    ../data/672.jpg

    co Musikprotokoll

  • ../data/677.jpg

Virus #3 Part A 1

Virus #3 Part A 2

Projekt | live Elektronik & akustische Instrumente (2013,2016,2017)

 
Virus #1
Virus #2

Virus #3
Komposition für einen live-generierten elektronischen Klangkörper
Streich-, Holz- und Blechblasinstrumente, Schlagwerk

Tontechnik: Peter Venus
Auftragswerk des RSO Wien

Der live-generierte elektronische Klangkörper ist Wirt und Wirtin an den sich die Instrumentenklänge andocken, an ihn anpassen, in ihn hineindringen und zu ihrer Replikation benützen. Zu Beginn ist dieser Körper immun, aber im zeitlichen Verlauf des Stückes gibt er seinen Widerstand auf, nimmt die Instrumentenklänge in sich auf, und einer Vermehrung der Viren steht nichts mehr im Wege. Es ist Kampf und Synthese der beiden Klangkörper. Gemeinsam bleiben sie am Leben.

Initialzündung für die Virus #* Serie ist einer jener seltenen Glücksmomente. Ich habe Terretektorh von Iannis Xenakis 2009 bei Wien Modern, aufgeführt vom RSO, erlebt. Ich war schlichtweg high! Und trotzdem – mir fehlten diese in einer doch ganz anderen Weise durch den Raum ziehenden elektronischen Klänge. Vieles hat sich aufgetan, Fragen, Experimente. Ich denke in Körpern. Ich bin Elektronikerin. Also WIE kann ich mit einem Klangkörper wie einem Orchester kommunizieren? Ich habe mich für die Sprache, die mir am nächsten ist entschieden – live generierte Elektronik – Hören. Nein, kein Zuckerstreusel drüberstreun, kein Effektieren, Unabdingbares – die Partitur.

Dieses Bild eines Virus ist aus mir herausgewachsen.

Langsam habe ich mich an diese Herausforderung herangetastet. In Virus #1 sind es einzelne Instrumentengruppen, in Virus #2 eine Kombination aus 2 Instrumentengruppen, in Virus #3 eine Synthese aus allen Instrumentengruppen mit denen ich bereits gearbeitet habe.

23 Instrumente, 15 Stimmen, 75 Ozillatoren, 75 Metren. 24 Ohrenpaare begeben sich in eine Feedbackschleife. Ich – die Elektronik – die Wirtin – die rekursive Steuereinheit – eine komplexe Maschine.

Beide Körper sind hörbar. Die Virusserie ist eine Forschungsreise in die akustische Wahrnehmung, ein Ausloten von Reaktionen unserer Hirne im Millisekundenbereich, ein Plädoyer für den akustischen Augenblick in höchster Präzision.
Und was hören Sie?

03 10 2013 Musikprotokoll | Dom im Berg, Graz

Virus #3.1 für Blockflöte, Fagott, Violoncello, Violine und Schlagwerk
Kompositionsauftrag von ORF und Jeunesse
mit Dafne Vicente-Sandoval (Fagott), Maria Grün (Cello), Andrii Pavlov (Violine), Caroline Mayrhofer (Blockflöte), Igor Gross (Schlagwerk)

31 03 2016 ORF RadioKulturhaus, Wien

Virus #3.2 für Paetzold Flöte, Fagott, Tuba, Horn und Akkordeon
Kompositionsauftrag der Klangspuren Schwaz
mit TENM Tiroler Ensemble für Neue Musik (Caroline Mayrhofer, Paetzold Flöte, Erhard Ploner / Fagott, Christoph Gapp / Horn, Karlheinz Siessl / Tuba, Harald Pröckl /Akkordeon)

17 09 2017 Klangspuren Festival PILGERSTATION VI – ABSCHLUSSKONZERT | Pfarrkirche Hll. Petrus und Paulus, Bruckhäusl

unterstützt von bm:ukk

credits


Andrii Pavlov

Der Violinist Andrii Pavlov repräsentiert eine junge Generation ukrainischer Musiker und gewann verschiedene Preise wie die Stasys Vainiunas International Chamber Music Competition in Vilnius, Litauen, oder die Johannes Brahms International Competition in Pörtschach, Österreich. Er gibt internationale Gastspiele in der Ukraine, den Niederlanden, Spanien, Polen, Azerbaijan, Algerien, Iran und Syrien und nahm an Meisterkursen mit Philip Setzer, Krzysztof Smietana, Marc Danel, Andrej Bielow und Alexander Pavlovsky teil.

Caroline Mayrhofer

Wien/Innsbruck/Brixen. Musikerin, Studium und Diplom Blockflöte und Violoncello in Linz, Wien, Amsterdam. Rege Konzerttätigkeit als Solistin und in Ensembles Alter und Neuer Musik in Europa, Amerika, Asien. Mitwirkung bei CD- und Rundfunkaufnahmen (EMI digital, RecRec, RAI), auch Beschäftigung mit Improvisation, Volksmusik, arabischer und sefardischer Musik, musiziert auch auf Ziehorgel, Klavier. | homepage

Dafne Vicente-Sandoval

ist eine Fagottistin und Klangforscherin in den Bereichen der improvisierten und zeitgenössischen Musik und der Klanginstallation. Mit ihrem Instrument erforscht sie die Fragilität der Klänge, deren Erscheinung im Raum und die Grenze zwischen Instabilität und Kontrolle. Dafne Vicente-Sandoval lebt derzeit in Paris und bevorzugt in ihrer Arbeit Kollaborationen über einen langen Zeitraum um einerseits ihre Integrität zu bewahren und sich andererseits auf einen Dialog einzulassen, wie etwa mit Jakob Ullmann, Éliane Radigue, Klaus Lang, Phill Niblock und Michael Pisaro.

Igor Gross

Schlagwerkstudium in Wien. Rege Konzerttätigkeit im Bereich der Neuen Musik, unter anderem mit dem Klangforum Wien, PHACE Contemporary Music, Ensemble 20. Jahrhundert, Ensemble Phidias, Ensemble Platypus. Solokonzerte und Beschäftigung mit frei improvisierter Musik. Regelmäßige Projekte bei österreichischen Orchestern wie den Wiener Philharmonikern, RSO Wien, Staatsoper Wien und vielen anderen mehr.

Maria Grün

Die Cellistin Maria Grün erhielt ihren ersten Cellounterricht im Alter von sechs Jahren und wurde mit 7 Jahren in die Begabtenklasse der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst in Graz aufgenommen. Von 2008 bis 2014 war sie als Stimmführerin im Radiosymphonieorchester Wien engagiert, seit 2014 ist sie Mitglied der Cellogruppe der Wiener Symphoniker. Seit Herbst 2007 unterrichtet sie die Violoncello Begabtenklasse der Johann Sebastian Bach Musikschule und seit Oktober 2012 arbeitet sie an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst in Wien als Assistentin.

RSO

Das ORF Radio-Symphonieorchester Wien ist ein weltweit anerkanntes Spitzenorchester, das sich der Wiener Tradition des Orchesterspiels verbunden fühlt. | homepage

TENM

TENM ist das Tiroler Ensemble für Neue Musik geründet 1984 von Günther Zechberger und derzeit geleitet von Harald Pröckl. | homepage

  • Replikation

    ../data/85.jpg

  • RSO Dom im Berg Musikprotokoll

    ../data/664.jpg

    co Musikprotokoll

  • RSO Dom im Berg Musikprotokoll

    ../data/665.jpg

    co Musikprotokoll

  • RSO Dom im Berg Musikprotokoll

    ../data/666.jpg

    co Musikprotokoll

  • RSO Dom im Berg Musikprotokoll

    ../data/667.jpg

    co Musikprotokoll

  • RSO Dom im Berg Musikprotokoll

    ../data/668.jpg

    co Musikprotokoll

  • RSO Dom im Berg Musikprotokoll

    ../data/669.jpg

    co Musikprotokoll

  • RSO Dom im Berg Musikprotokoll

    ../data/670.jpg

    co Musikprotokoll

  • RSO Dom im Berg Musikprotokoll

    ../data/671.jpg

    co Musikprotokoll

  • RSO Dom im Berg Musikprotokoll

    ../data/672.jpg

    co Musikprotokoll

  • ../data/677.jpg

Virus #3 Teil A 1

Virus #3 Teil A 2